The Independent Day School Celebrates 61st Graduation Ceremony

On a bright, sunny morning on Friday, June 10, The Independent Day School celebrated its 61st graduation in its school history. Honoring and recognizing the Class of 2022, the ceremony was held outside on the school’s sprawling campus with family, teachers, younger students, and administrators. 

After hearing opening remarks and welcomes from Head of School Dr. Marijke Kehrhahn and President of the Board of Trustees Stacy Meisner, students were also chosen to speak and address the crowd. Alexandros Antonopoulos and Kat Reeves were selected for this year’s honor, and both students reflected on their joyful memories of their years at the school and of the lessons they learned they they will carry with them throughout their lives.

Each student was then called up to receive their diploma and, as is tradition, a faculty member gave a speech about each member of the graduating class. The words shared by the teachers truly highlighted the deep connection and impact each student had not only on their grade but on the entire school community as well. 

After each student was called upon, the graduates gathered together to sing the IDS School Song, A Special Place, one last time, before departing as the school’s newest alumnae. 

The Class of 2022 will always be remembered for the way the students handled their Middle School years throughout the Covid-19 pandemic. These students were flexible, resilient, grateful, and strong-willed. We were incredibly fortunate to have them as leaders this past year, and we wish them all the best in their future endeavors!

The Class of 2022

Alexandros Antonopoulos (Durham), Nola Bradford (Higganum), Luke Diana (Madison), William Diana (Madison), Quinn Hadarik (Lyme), Ezekiel Hatcher (Cheshire), Matea Lebron (Berlin), Natalia Levesque (Guilford), Kody Mackenzie (Bristol), Rowen Meisner (Essex), Amber Michael (Middletown), Kaelyn O'Shea (Portland), Elizabeth Pata (Wallingford), Katerina Reeves (Middletown), Sarah Roberts (Middlefield), Aria Teva (East Hampton), Aviv Teva (East Hampton), Anthony Ursini Jr. (Deep River), Lydia Winkowski (Wethersfield) 

Middle School Graduation Awards

Head of School Award: Amber Michael

For exemplifying effort, loyalty, and service to the school, and recognizing a student whose contributions make IDS a better place. 

Scholar-Athlete Award: Sarah Roberts

For excellence and motivation in academics and athletics.

Granger Poetry Prize: Matea Lebron

Honoring the family of Frank Granger, past parent, and former Trustee, for excellence in writing poetry.

Johnson Drama Award: Natalia Levesque

For the student whose work in theatre arts class as well as in the Middle School performance demonstrates dedication, enthusiasm, and creativity.

Sylvina Chapman Norton Award in English: Aviv Teva

For recognition of excellence in English.

History Award: Alexandros Antonopoulos

For consistent academic effort and genuine love of history. 

Design Thinking/Maker Lab Award: Aviv Teva

For excellence in all aspects of creative design including brainstorming, prototyping, building, and teamwork.

Instrumental Music Award: Rowen Meisner

For a love of music, expertise on a musical instrument, and leadership in an ensemble. 

Science Award: Amber Michael

For outstanding effort and achievement in science. 

Spanish Award: Alexandros Antonopoulos

For special effort in and enthusiasm for Spanish

Digital Arts & Science Award: Aria Teva

For excellence in creativity, innovation, and design technology.

Vocal Music Award: Ellie Pata

For a love of music, expertise in signing, and leadership in an ensemble.

Math Award: Sarah Roberts

For outstanding effort, growth, and enthusiasm for making mathematical connections. 

Art Award: Ellie Pata

For continuing interest and skillful and imaginative work in Art.