IDS Chapter of National Junior Honor Society Inducts New Members

On January 27, the Independent Day School Inducted 11 new members to the National Junior Honor Society.  The IDS Chapter, which is celebrating its fourth year of membership in NJHS, recognizes students who demonstrate the five principles of NJHS – scholarship, leadership, service, character, and citizenship. This year’s ceremony, held virtually, was led by Head of School Marijke Kehrhahn and NJHS Adviser Charlie Mitchell with assistance from IDS graduates inducted in years past who provided videos in which they described each of the five principles. The group included Andrew Foster ’20 (Durham), Orr Teva ’19 (East Hampton), Laura Colonna de Lega ’18 (Middlefield), Zander Mitchell ’19 (Cheshire), and Ava Jacobson ’21 (Killingworth).  

IDS began its NJHS membership to provide avenues for Middle School students to excel and be recognized as outstanding members of the school community. Students who achieve Honor Roll for two consecutive marking periods are invited to apply for NJHS membership. Those wishing to apply must submit a personal essay, a record of their community and school service, and a letter of recommendation from someone outside of IDS. IDS Middle School faculty provide input on their observations of the candidates.  Applications are reviewed by the Faculty Council and new members are selected. 

The IDS Chapter of NJHS provides leadership within the school through community projects, community service, and student communications, which encourage all students to strive to model the five principles of NJHS. This year’s inductees include:

  • Alexandros Antonopoulos ‘22 (Durham)
  • Charlotte Iannucci ‘21 (Middletown)
  • Sarah Roberts ‘22 (Middletown)
  • Cristina Antonopoulos ‘21 (Durham)
  • Owen Courcey ‘21 (Wallingford)
  • Leah Covey ‘21 (Cheshire)
  • Akum Grover ‘21 (Meriden)
  • Matea Lebron ‘22 (Berlin)
  • Amber Michael ‘22 (Middletown)
  • Henry Pfeil ‘21 (Wallingford)
  • Lydia Winkowski ‘21 (Wethersfield)

We are proud of these outstanding students!